Angella Dravid wins the Billy T Award Award / Appointment


NameAngella Dravid wins the Billy T Award
Award / AppointmentBilly T Award
Supporting / Awarding InstitutionNew Zealand Comedy Trust
CityTāmaki Makaurau Auckland


In 2017, Angella Dravid was awarded the Billy T Award, an award given at the end of the New Zealand International Comedy Festival in recognition of up-and-coming stand-up comedians with ‘outstanding potential’. Dravid received the award for her debut show, Down the Rabbit Hole, an autobiographical retelling of a love story gone terribly wrong.

Dravid was shortlisted for the prize alongside Li'i Alaimoana for his show Minority Rapport, Patch Lambert for Terrordactyl, Ray O'Leary for A Pessimist's Guide to Optimism and Paul Williams for Summer Time Love.

The Billy T Award was established in 1997 and is named in honour of comedian Billy T James. Recipients are given $4000 and a version of his trademark yellow towel. Dravid was the second comedian of Asian descent to receive the award in its history, with David Correos winning the award the year before in 2016.


Related entries

Last updated: 28 February 2024 Suggest an Edit